Review – Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?  And there is worse still to come.
Because just as you are searching for him, someone is also watching you.            How far would you go to find the one that got away?

From the imprint that published Fiona Barton’s instant New York Times bestseller The Widow and Clare Mackintosh’s global phenomenon I Let You Go, comes Mary Torjussen’s GONE WITHOUT A TRACE (Berkley Trade Paperback Original; 978-0-399-58501-2; April 11, 2017; $16.00)—an electric, compulsive thriller about a boyfriend’s unexplained disappearance, and its corrosive effects on the woman he left behind.

In GONE WITHOUT A TRACE, young professional Hannah returns from work to find her live-in boyfriend, Matt, is gone. His belongings have disappeared from their house. Every call she ever made, every text she ever sent, every photo of him and any sign of him on social media have vanished. It’s as though their last four years together never happened. As she struggles to get through the next few days, with humiliation and recriminations whirring through her head, she knows she’ll do anything to get answers. Where has he gone? Why has he left?

Then the messages start—cryptic and creepy texts and videos—and Hannah realizes that someone is watching her every move. And there are signs that someone has been in her house.

As her search for Matt progresses, Hannah treads further into madness and obsession—and the only way out is to come to terms with the one shocking truth she just can’t accept. .

For anyone who has ever asked “Was it something I did?” GONE WITHOUT A TRACE brings to chilling light the doubt, fear, and obsession that can lie dormant in our most intimate relationships.

Click on title below for direct Amazon buy link:                                             Gone Without a Trace

My Review:

I received a complimentary copy of this book for my review.

Hannah Monroe is returning home from a one day business trip, and she’s on top of the world!  Her hard work has been noticed by her bosses, and she’s been told she’s being considered for a director’s position, the youngest person ever to achieve that milestone.  Hannah can’t wait to break the news to Matt, her live-in love, but when she arrives home, something is dreadfully wrong.  The house is dark, there’s no Matt, and as Hannah looks around, she sees that every single possession of Matt’s has been removed.  All his clothing, personal items, art, everything he brought to their home is gone.  As Hannah frantically tries to call him, she finds that his contact information and all his texts, as well as the call log pertaining to him has been deleted.  She goes to her computer, only to find that all their emails are deleted also.  It’s as if Matt was never there.

As Hannah contacts their friends, trying to find information, it seems that everyone agrees that Matt wanted out of the relationship, and chose to leave on a day he knew she’d be away.  Hannah doesn’t accept that, and begins an investigation of her own that consumes her life.  Soon her work and her health are suffering greatly, but she refuses to believe that Matt could just walk away from their four year relationship.  Then, very strange things begin to happen – cryptic notes in the mail, phone calls from Matt’s old phone number with no one speaking, and someone has been in Hannah’s home.

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE is a skillfully written suspense novel that had me on the edge of my chair from the beginning.  Soon, I was suspecting all of Hannah’s friends – Katie, her lifelong best friend; James, Katie’s lover (and Hannah’s former lover); Sam, her work associate; and Lucy, her assistant at the office.  The story is told from Hannah’s point of view, so the reader experiences everything at the same time she does, but also is seeing the situation from Hannah’s perspective.  I literally could not put this book down as I raced to see what the resolution was.  I admit to being very wrong in many of my assumptions, and very surprised at the outcome.  Readers who favor twisty suspense will definitely enjoy GONE WITHOUT A TRACE, which I highly recommend.

About Rose

Rose is an avid reader and reviewer, especially of historical romance. Her blog Rosesareblue.net also features reviews by Bonnie and Lady Blue.
This entry was posted in Mary Torjussen, Review, Romantic Suspense, Rose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s